good mopeds

The place to discuss rides, accessories, or whatever is tangentially Spree/Elite-related

Moderator: Moderator

killerpancake
Spree
Spree

good mopeds

Post by killerpancake »

I've noticed lately, there has been a lot of companies that I've never heard of making mopeds, and I also hear that the mopeds they make are nothing but grief after the first 500 miles. Has anyone owned one of these mopeds that can verify that they're not up to par in the quality aspect? Or is this just with Bad Owners?
If it don't fit, force it. If it breaks, it needed to be replaced anyway.

(Previous)
87 honda spree
85 honda spree

(Current)
88 yammy razz

(parts bike)
another 88 yammy razz
z50r-ghost
CB900F
CB900F

Re: good mopeds

Post by z50r-ghost »

I can vouch for the Chinese "GY6" 4 stroke complete and all - out "cheapness" 100%.

I have been a motorcycle and scooter technician for the past 15 years; 9 yrs at a Honda dealership, and now at a shop that specializes in mainly ALL scooter repair. Chinese "clone" 50cc scooters can be purchased anywhere from $300-$1000 (and that's for a brand NEW scooter). They have problems everywhere. Electrical, engine, fuel system, suspension, crap batteries...etc.