Can you tell me about the Aero 125?

The place to discuss rides, accessories, or whatever is tangentially Spree/Elite-related

Moderator: Moderator

Swordsman
Noob
Noob

Can you tell me about the Aero 125?

Post by Swordsman »

Hey guys! I know this isn't 50cc related, but I have no idea where else to check, and this forum was recommended.

I've run across an old '84 Aero 125 that seems to be in decent shape and decently priced. I have no experience with scooters aside from a test ride on a Buddy 150, and none whatsoever with 2 stroke engines. I'm mechanically inclined enough to do most of my own work (I currently service a Ural and have done some middle-weight wrenching on a Buell and several cars).

My biggest question is: since the Aero 125 was made for only one year, how difficult is it to round up parts?

Secondary question: what kind of reliability/longevity should one expect from a mid-80's Honda 2 stroke?

As cool as it would be to keep original, I have no qualms with replacing bits with whatever I could get my hands on, so long as it could be made to work. I'm just trying to figure out if this scoot would be worth purchasing, or if it would ultimately be more of a headache than it's worth.

Thanks for any insight you can give a noob!

~SM
PolarIce
Spree
Spree

Re: Can you tell me about the Aero 125?

Post by PolarIce »

I happen to know a guy that has a few Aero 125's in his stable....

If you read the manual, ask intelligent questions and not get your panties in a bunch over "straight forward" answers to your questions then you and BEAR will get along fine.

Atleast that's been my experience. Buy it I say.
1984 Honda NN50 Gyro
1986? Honda Aero 50
PolarIce=http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/USCGC_Pola ... WAGB-11%29
Served Onboard 94-97
GKinTN
Goped
Goped

Post by GKinTN »