85 spree

The place to discuss rides, accessories, or whatever is tangentially Spree/Elite-related

Moderator: Moderator

maineguide
Noob
Noob

85 spree

Post by maineguide »

I have dragged my 1985 spree out of the back of the barn and would like to get it running. I am so glad to find some possible help here. It ran fine 20 years ago. It only has 425 miles on it. I am not a hotshot with things like this but I'm not a total novice. I'm thinking I need to clean out the old gas , get a new battery and spark plug and perhaps replace the carb. Any other things to try to get this running.? Thanks
motormike

Re: 85 spree

Post by motormike »

I strongly advise against buying a Chinese replacement carburetor.
In nearly ALL cases, the original carb can be cleaned and will perform reliably if done right.
Chinese-made clones are sketchy in quality and often do not run well.
Another thing you should do is replace ALL the fuel and vacuum lines with NEW hose.
The original hoses are NOT compatible with today's ethanol gas, and will deteriorate inside and cause fuel starvation problems.
It's a good idea to use clear hose AND place a fuel filter inline.
Drain and fill the GEARBOX with NEW 10W40 engine oil.
Replace those ancient tires with NEW TIRES and TUBES.
Dry-rot makes those old tires dangerous and are NOT reliable.
RideRed
<Gyro S><MB5><Honda Navi><Helix><Sym Wolf><Yamaha Razz><Honda CH150 Deluxe>
"Live Large - Ride Small"
maineguide
Noob
Noob

Post by maineguide »

Hey thanks for your quick reply. I have a question. the gas tank should come off easily but the gauge wires can not
be unscrewed. I seems it would be easier to clean out the tank if it was off the bike. What's the best way?
Meatball
CB900F
CB900F

Post by Meatball »