Honda Elite Log & Costs

The place to discuss rides, accessories, or whatever is tangentially Spree/Elite-related

Moderator: Moderator

nparks
Spree
Spree

Honda Elite Log & Costs

Post by nparks »

I'm going to keep a log on this forum about my scooter and all of it's mods. I bought the bike thinking it'd only need a CDI, but turns out the head was destroyed so my adventure began there. I purchased a 75cc Big Bore kit from eBay and a bunch of swag from VT Cycles.

Maybe this will help some noobs get an idea of what to buy and how much they should expect to pay for parts. Also what problems they should expect to encounter as I will most definitely face some problems as I go through with this. Mind you I have no prior mechanical knowledge other than the basics of how a 2-stroke works, so I myself am a noob. Each step will give an approximate time to complete the project in parenthesis if you \happen to have all of the tools and have the perfect working conditions (i.e. no gorilla glue used as a gasket).

Removing Restrictor Plate (10 mins)
Removing the restrictor plate was fairly easy the only problem was getting to it by removing the main bolt attached to the front pulley.

Installing [7.5:1] Gears (20 mins)
I installed the gears for my scooter. It should have took about 10 minutes since I all ready had the housing and such taken off, but I ran into a few problems. I unscrewed all of the bolts for the gear casing, but had the hardest time breaking the seal to get to the gears. It took me about 30 minutes of hitting it with a mallet and prying at it with a screwdriver.

Once I removed the casing the gasket was in great condition surprisingly. The smaller gear fell right off of the shaft, the bigger gear wouldn't come off so I had to get it pressed off. Luckily I have a friend who has a friend who works at an airport hangar who happened to have a 12 ton press.