mig welder for scoots

The place to discuss rides, accessories, or whatever is tangentially Spree/Elite-related

Moderator: Moderator

timcat
Elite
Elite

mig welder for scoots

Post by timcat »

Kenny_McCormic
CBR1000RR
CBR1000RR

Post by Kenny_McCormic »

Those things work great with good name brand wire, bundled s*** is useless. Buy an autodarkening mask while your there. Sometimes you can get em on sale for under $150.

Follow the duty cycle and (like any welder)they last forever.
I am not a mechanic, nor do I play one on TV. Actually my advice is probably worth slightly less than what you pay to view it.
timcat
Elite
Elite

Post by timcat »

well should i perhaps start with an arc welder seeing how i dont have hardly any welding expereance ?
beefy
BMX
BMX

Post by beefy »

wire fed welders are a little easyer to use
timcat
Elite
Elite

Post by timcat »

oh ok maby ill get one then wire seems less hassle but i think if i get one i can learn how to use it but the thing im most concerned with is getting shocked and dying lol
Kenny_McCormic
CBR1000RR
CBR1000RR

Post by Kenny_McCormic »

Fluxcore is 5x easier than stick. Wear gloves and a decent pait of shoes, dont touch the workpiece or the wire and you wont get shocked.

Do you understand duty cycle? Thats the most important part of welding, cant weld with a toasted welder.
I am not a mechanic, nor do I play one on TV. Actually my advice is probably worth slightly less than what you pay to view it.
timcat
Elite
Elite

Post by timcat »

yes to an extent weld for 1 min let cool for 10 i think
SprEE*MP*
Spree
Spree

Post by SprEE*MP* »

Make sure u read the owners manual if u've never welded before. That should be all the info you'll need. Thats all I needed.
-1984 Spree,
veedubh20
CB900F
CB900F

Post by veedubh20 »

you can get blind 8) lincoln mig is very good!
Kenny_McCormic
CBR1000RR
CBR1000RR

Post by Kenny_McCormic »

timcat wrote:yes to an extent weld for 1 min let cool for 10 i think