Another Elite E swap: Project Elite-D

This is the place to post your scooter builds; everything from stock Spree restoration to water-cooled drag bikes.

Moderator: Moderator

Majourlittle
Elite
Elite

Another Elite E swap: Project Elite-D

Post by Majourlittle »

I have owned this scooter for nearly 5 years now, but I have been riding it for almost 12 years. This scooter was my grandfathers for many years as his RV scooter for when he went linedancing around the south. I managed to purchase it from him a while back since he never used it anymore for a dollar. I got it so that I could have easier transportation around my university, but gave up on it after a few weeks because of its lack of speed. I upgraded to a Buddy 125 and the Elite sat dormant on the back porch until now.

I went and visited my father/Grandfather this last feburary and i found an ad on CL for a 98 Elite S for sale. $53 dollars later, It was on its way back to Tulsa.

Plans are to make this scooter a fun around-town scooter with no reguards to longevity and more interest in power. I want to be able to swap the motor over without loosing the centerstand and keeping the wheel underneath the mudflap.

Currently I have modified the Dio motormount to fit inside the elite frame mount. There is still some room for the motor to be brought in closer if needed.

Mods include swapping the forks over so that i get the "s"s bigger wheels and brakes as well as more suspension travel. I will also be going through each panel and cleaning them up heavily. A new paint scheme is in order as well.

I have purchased
V8 exhaust
50mm tw jug. (want to get some pratice on tuning first, then ill find something nicer)
ct manifold and 24mm oko
oil plug

This is all in preperation for fitting the engine. once the engine is fitted to my liking, the engine will get properly overhauled, as well as the bike. then I will go through and purchase the rest of the transmission stuff and tires.
Trafficjamz
CBR1000RR
CBR1000RR