Painting plastics

Trying to get your Spree/Elite to run, or run better? Post your questions here.

Moderator: Moderator

Quag
BMX
BMX

Painting plastics

Post by Quag »

Hi would anyone know the best kind of paint to use/method of painting the plastic panels on mt SE50? they are really ratty looking and i'll have to do some repair work on them. There is a nice thread on how to do the repairs but nothing on painting :(
sugarshane
BMX
BMX

Re: Painting plastics

Post by sugarshane »

I'm no professional but here's what I did:

Taped off what I didn't want painted. Wiped down panel with wax/grease remover bought from Orielly's. Sprayed a heavy coat of adhesion promoter, also from Orielly's, on panel and let dry ~ 5 minutes. Followed by 2-3 medium coats of Valspar paint for plastics, purchased from Lowes, with ~ 5-10 minutes between coats. Done on a windless, 80 degree day in the sun. This method exceeded my expectations. Good luck.

Quag
BMX
BMX

Post by Quag »

Thanx. It is originally white/red. ive found red vinyl for the seat but was thinking of Black/red. After looking at yours i think i have decided. Great job you did there
GoodDerf
Goped
Goped

Post by GoodDerf »

If you are looking for on the cheap, without having to purchase a lot of accessories I would say just go to your local autostore and pick up any automotive two stage paint. Along with this you will want wax and grease remover, 1000,1500,2000,3000 grit wet/dry-sandpaper, microfiber clothes(you can also use CLEAN old t-shirts) primer, and clear-coat, preferably of the same brand as the paint. Wax is nice too if you want to get it nice and shiny. From there it is all about process.

1) Wipe down the plastics with wax and grease remover, you don't want to be sanding anything into the plastic to be painted.