Best Bang for the Buck, the mods begin

Trying to get your Spree/Elite to run, or run better? Post your questions here.

Moderator: Moderator

alexfleury
Spree
Spree

Best Bang for the Buck, the mods begin

Post by alexfleury »

I am a total noobie to scooters, but I have ridden motorcycles for years. I found this TERRIFIC site just after I bought my scooter.

Picked up this 2001 from a motorcycle ridin buddy for $500

in 12 years?????

I think the scooter is cute but I was disappointed to find that it has very little power. I live on a straight street that is 1/2 mile long and has an even slight incline the whole half mile.
uphill

downhill

I did a lot of reading here and asked a lot of dumb questions and everyone was WAY patient and helpful. I found out the first things that you do to a "P" model is to deregulate it. For a variety of sales reasons it came from the factory limited to 25 mph.

You begin with taking off the bodywork and removing the airbox and doing the "airbox mod"

The before pic Image

The after pic Image

I found that my air filter was totally deteriorated. Bet it hadn't been replaced since 2001.

I didn't want to wait a week for a part. That's what it takes here at my local Honda shop in a small town. So I made a trip to Lowes. This IS NOT the recommended solution but for now I think it will work fine.

So with the air box taken care of, the carb is the next thing to "deregulate" This amounts to removing the stock main jet and replacing it with about an 80 to 88 size jet.

Jet info and more is copied from one of Wheelman's posts (keep in mind the 50p is a #68)