Aero not turning over after minor crash.

Trying to get your Spree/Elite to run, or run better? Post your questions here.

Moderator: Moderator

DragonMama
Noob
Noob

Aero not turning over after minor crash.

Post by DragonMama »

Hi all,
I have an '85 Aero 80 aka 'The Red Dragon'. A week ago I took apart the carb because I wanted to check where the float level was at. FYI I'm a newb at scooter mechanics, but I have an excellent copy of the manual and I'm careful.
Put everything back together, went to fire up the Dragon and it started great, I gave it some gas and the throttle stuck wide open. I ended up crashing into a chain link fence across the street.
I felt OK enough yesterday to check out the Dragon and everything actually looks good: the frame looks good, tires are good, brake lines, lights, they're good. I checked and there is fuel in carb bowl. My problem is it isn't turning over. It seems like it's something so simple but my concussion brain isn't figuring it out.
Any ideas or advice would be gratefully welcomed. Thanks! :D
MrJumps
CB900F
CB900F

Re: Aero not turning over after minor crash.

Post by MrJumps »

Well if it took off full throttle :rock: than it probably is the throttle slide. On the spree and other bikes alike they have a pin in the throttle tube that only goes in one way. Be careful when seating and look down the carburetor throat to see that it is closed fully. If you still have issue, you may have a broken or unplugged ignition or so wire. To check spark leave the plug in the coil boot and touch the cathoid on the plug to the metal of the frame and turn the bike over. Be care-full and do not touch anywhere on the metal near the plug, the shock hurts a wee bit. If you still is having the no start bug, then someone with a greater comprehension akin to these superlative moto-bikes should pitch in.

:hi: Welcome to the forums

- Jumps
1993 ch80, swapped with a ch250
2021 DRZ400sm :worship:
DragonMama
Noob
Noob

Post by DragonMama »