(Aero 80) Beginning Maintenance Resources?

Trying to get your Spree/Elite to run, or run better? Post your questions here.

Moderator: Moderator

dumb_scott
Noob
Noob

(Aero 80) Beginning Maintenance Resources?

Post by dumb_scott »

Howdy all,

I recently bought a '84 Honda Aero 80 and am interested in getting into DIY tuning & maintenance. I'm new to engine maintenance and hoping to get a general sense of the basics (e.g., the main components of the engine and what they do, how fuel/oil travels through things, etc).

Are there any kind of intro/crash course resources out there y'all would recommend? I've got the service manual, but anything dumbed a little more than that? Thanks!

:newb:
motormike

Re: (Aero 80) Beginning Maintenance Resources?

Post by motormike »

Hello and welcome Scott... :hi:
It would be nice to know where you are located....and your age.
The world of 2-stroke engines is not a difficult thing to understand.
There is a book written decades ago all about 2-strokes. I'm sorry I don't know the title, but it is
considered the "bible" of 2-strokes.
I assume your Aero 80 is running currently and riding, and you want to keep it that way.
I will say this...I owned an Aero 80 once, and never had it running. I found the cold-start choke system to be a nightmare, but have since learned that it is relatively simple when all components are in good shape. There is a very simple way to bypass the choke system should it become necessary in the future. A former member, Bear 45-70, was the resident expert on Aero 80, but he has moved on. The current guru of Aero 80 is member "Breaze"and he is very willing to help. I hope you find what you need here, and use our resources for help. The "Wikispreedia" is a very good place to find basics as well as specifics...search this board for what you need to know, and post threads when you have questions. Pictures are always appreciated.
Attachments
Aero 80 002.JPG
Aero 80 002.JPG (117.47 KiB) Viewed 2886 times
RideRed