New Cylinder/Piston/rings, now wont run

Trying to get your Spree/Elite to run, or run better? Post your questions here.

Moderator: Moderator

Farfignugin
Veteran OG
Veteran OG

New Cylinder/Piston/rings, now wont run

Post by Farfignugin »

Still trying to get my '85 Spree running, but to no avail. It starts up fine when cold or has been sitting for a while and it idles fine. But after around 1/4 throttle it starts to seem like it wants to back-fire but it doesn't, it more of just puffs (guess that's how to describe it). Afterwards I can't keep it running. But it starts up just fine. It's also putting out a lot of smoke. (while on the topic how tight is the oiler supposed to be? Is it supposed to be able to move a little?).

Please help me get this thing running. If I can't I will be putting it up for local sale to start to raise money for a Honda Metropolitan.

Thanks in advance!
Kenny_McCormic
CBR1000RR
CBR1000RR

Post by Kenny_McCormic »

bad bystarter
I am not a mechanic, nor do I play one on TV. Actually my advice is probably worth slightly less than what you pay to view it.
Farfignugin
Veteran OG
Veteran OG

Post by Farfignugin »

How do I eliminate the bystarter to test if it is the cause?[/img]
Kenny_McCormic
CBR1000RR
CBR1000RR

Post by Kenny_McCormic »

you remove itfrom the carb and apply 12volts to it the needle should move slowly

http://www.hondaspree.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=1504
hold the yellow lead on the positive terminal and the green lead on the negative terminal of the spree's battery. It is better if you do this carefully with some alligator clips, but if you are patient, you should(very slowly) see the needle valve move outwards as long as you hold it there(to an extent of course). If it moves, you know it's operating good; if it doesn't, then either you didn't install it correctly, or you need a new by-starter.
I am not a mechanic, nor do I play one on TV. Actually my advice is probably worth slightly less than what you pay to view it.