No Power - Need help to get it to turn over.

Trying to get your Spree/Elite to run, or run better? Post your questions here.

Moderator: Moderator

ferchja
Spree
Spree

No Power - Need help to get it to turn over.

Post by ferchja »

I have read and searched the forums. I have experience in advance mechanics with cars, 2cycle and 4 cycle engines as well as carbs of all sorts.

This is my first attempt at a 2 wheel restore. I have received a 1985 Spree which was recently running. (< 2years) I have worked through the service manual and tested all circuits, switches resistors and so on.

Symptoms, will not show any sign of life with new battery. I have successfully tested the entire electric system per the service manual. All seems perfect. When I turn the key to on, no lights come on. I tested everything I could think of to get at least the system to wake up. I am thinking I have a ground problem or a wire short somewhere.

Any clues? Is there something I can bypass to get it to turn over. I have not tested the starter, but I have tested the starter relay and that did work fine. There has to be a relay (safety of such) I am missing to get it to at least spin. Or be able to see a light on.

Thanks in advance.

Jeremy Ferch
vette76
CB900F
CB900F

Post by vette76 »

ok, check to make sure the batt is charged. if it is there could be a blown fuse. (right side of batt). the brake has to be applied to start bike.
00' sa-50 slammed and stretched
89' elite sb, with a 99' af16, (SOLD)
87' spree (SOLD
87' mustang gt vert kenne bell, irs.
90' mustang notch turbo drag car
12' wrx
ferchja
Spree
Spree

Post by ferchja »

Thanks. I will check to see if that does it. I will report back hopefully later tonight.

EDIT: 30 minutes later. Chased back from the starter to the button. The key was the brakes on and the starter button was fouled. I got it to spin. Now I need to get a spark.