Replaced belt, now it won't start

Trying to get your Spree/Elite to run, or run better? Post your questions here.

Moderator: Moderator

GIJoeBob
Elite
Elite

Replaced belt, now it won't start

Post by GIJoeBob »

I needed to put a new belt on my spree. I picked up a belt at NAPA (9.5/10mm x 650mm) and got it all put back together and now it won't start. It sounds like the battery is run down when I try to start it and it doesn't make a difference when connected to a charger.

Could the starter motor be in a bind? I didn't notice anything out of the ordinary when it all went back together.

HELP!!
Kenny_McCormic
CBR1000RR
CBR1000RR

Post by Kenny_McCormic »

could be pull off the cover and have a look, maybe the belt is too short and tight?
I am not a mechanic, nor do I play one on TV. Actually my advice is probably worth slightly less than what you pay to view it.
GIJoeBob
Elite
Elite

Post by GIJoeBob »

My brother in law came by on his way back from a motorcycle rally and looked over the situation. He suggested we connect the battery terminals to a charger and try that.

I had done this already up to 40 amps and I didn't think that little motor would take more. He didn't see the logic in that.

He cranked it up to 200 amps and the motor naturally fried. :?

I have bits left over from when my father-in-law ruined another starter so perhaps I can combine the two into a working starter.

Anybody out there have a good deal on any starters? :roll:
hondaman
Elite
Elite

Post by hondaman »

Motorcycles and scooters don't mix. Keep the brother-in-law away from your scooter. He may know motorcycles but scooters are a whole different story. The same goes for your father in law.
Kenny_McCormic
CBR1000RR
CBR1000RR

Post by Kenny_McCormic »

Looks like you have some pretty stupid inlaws, forcing things either causes them to work or break, sometimes both. He owes you a starter for being a dumbass.