more throttle cable troubles

Trying to get your Spree/Elite to run, or run better? Post your questions here.

Moderator: Moderator

sfzoo
BMX
BMX

more throttle cable troubles

Post by sfzoo »

so the problem is that the throttle cable gets stuck and the motor is kept at a high rpm.
the guy at Kragen's auto said that WD40 would work, but it didn't.

when i start the scooter it is at an idle, but when i open the throttle(even just a little) it stays open.

the only thing that closes the throttle is by pulling the cable away from the carb. and it only works when i pull it at the connection(cirlced).

again, i am a super noob so bear with me...i just want to get back on the the bike.
maddog
CB900F
CB900F

Post by maddog »

the cable is binding, just follow it and you will the problem.
sfzoo
BMX
BMX

Post by sfzoo »

thanks,

but just so i'm clear...what exactly is binding?

does that mean that its snagged somewhere under the plastics? or is the problem near the carb?

sorry if this is elementary stuff
No_Stopping_A_Spree
Spree
Spree

Post by No_Stopping_A_Spree »

Just follow the cable down to see if it is bent or twisted..It might have sludge on the inside of the cable causing it to get "stuck" too
sfzoo
BMX
BMX

Post by sfzoo »

ok, thanks.

i'll check it once off work. but if it isn't twisted(binding?) and there is sludge in the cable what are my options for a solution?
hondaman
Elite
Elite

Post by hondaman »

You could try a product called cable lube. Maybe the best would just be to get a new throttle cable.
No_Stopping_A_Spree
Spree
Spree

Post by No_Stopping_A_Spree »

hondaman wrote:You could try a product called cable lube. Maybe the best would just be to get a new throttle cable.