'01 SA50 rough starting

Trying to get your Spree/Elite to run, or run better? Post your questions here.

Moderator: Moderator

jzambon
BMX
BMX

'01 SA50 rough starting

Post by jzambon »

Hey all,

I spent about 15 minutes searching through the forums trying to find a solution for this problem to no avail (a few leads, but nothing completely similar to my problem). I'm a newb, so please accept my apologies for missing what I'm sure are obvious symptoms of a problem.

So I've been riding around on my '01 SA50 i picked up for $600 two months ago, and I absolutely love it.

Recently however, starting has become somewhat of an issue. I try to use the kick-start over the electric start because the electric start doesn't seem to pop it on as quickly. It used to start right up but recently it has been harder to start and get going. This morning it took me 15 minutes to start up and ride on in.

What happens is when I'm starting it'll start at a real low idle, I'll let on the throttle very slightly and it'll die out. I did this for about 5 minutes on the stand trying to get it going. I was alternating between the electric and kick start. It would start, and I would let it run for a few minutes, but it would never go to a normal idle - and would bog out immediately after touching the throttle. I noted the sound it made while bogging down, it didn't sound like it was drowning so much, sounded more like arcing wires. After about 15 minutes of this I was finally able to get a decent idle going and the throttle finally responded. I let it sit at WOT for about 30 seconds on the stand and it *spewed* out white smoke (rich?). I took it off the stand and "rode it like I stole it" all the way to work (~4 miles). For the first mile or so there was some smoke coming out of the exhaust, but not nearly as much. After about a mile the throttle response got very good. After getting to work, I turned it off, and kicked it right back on again with no drama.