Why wont my spree do over 25-26 mph ?

Does your Spree/Elite already run great, and you're trying to make it quicker/faster? Need a monster motor swap? Discuss your ideas here.

Moderator: Moderator

Freek-Nassty
Noob
Noob

Why wont my spree do over 25-26 mph ?

Post by Freek-Nassty »

I just got my 85 Honda spree HQ50 - I'm in love it was in very good shape - i have only been into GSXR1000s , Now I'm liking the scooters but the thing is every where i go its 25 or 35 mph , and i read the forum on trans but if confuses me , I am new to the scooter world and small 2-strokes , But any way me and a friend cleaned everything to do with oil and fuel , Its holding almost 100 pd compression , and put a new bearing in tyranny , old one way out of spec spend a little more got the MOOG bearing 13 bucks (better than factory Honda bearing) ,gap spark plug at .028 and muffler is clean to , but this spree revs up great on the stand sounds like it will run balls out , when a rider (3 dudes ) between 180-280 gets on and rides it only does 25mph , then its like u hit a rev limiter ,seems to have a slow start but climbs fast to 25mph , then it has to slow down to start pulling again , We be leave from what i read , that i may need smaller weights (don't know where to get thos ) for the clutch and a tighter spring cant find that to , I may need some help ! ? ? ! oh by the way mines red and it don't have the petcock cover ether , LMFAO , I don't know if any one can under stand what i wrote or not ,

Plan is to leave stock , I don't want to start rattle can stuff , weld on 2-stroke motorcycle mufflers , and turn it in to a turd !
I say Keep it stock and running good enjoy it , it is what it is a scooter ! If your not happy buy a 1 liter bike !

I would love to have info on parts where to get them or if im way of track someone slap me ! Thanks ! :peace:
zuphilius
Elite
Elite

Re: Why wont my spree do over 25-26 mph ?

Post by zuphilius »