Neon lights

Does your Spree/Elite already run great, and you're trying to make it quicker/faster? Need a monster motor swap? Discuss your ideas here.

Moderator: Moderator

jayrey0910
BMX
BMX

Neon lights

Post by jayrey0910 »

Give me ideas............ :shock:
Kenny_McCormic
CBR1000RR
CBR1000RR

Post by Kenny_McCormic »

buy neons
buy fluorescent lamp driver NGK makes some small suitable ones
????
profit
I am not a mechanic, nor do I play one on TV. Actually my advice is probably worth slightly less than what you pay to view it.
jayrey0910
BMX
BMX

Post by jayrey0910 »

how could i put them on..... do i need to wheld some brackets?
Dac
Veteran OG
Veteran OG

Post by Dac »

you want to know something?

F*** Neon.
Go LED. LED's are brighter, they can withstand impact. (meaning if you take your bike over a side walk edge they wont bust. )And putting them on is 100 times easier.

What i did, is went to a dollar store. found these little toy light sabers.(the ones with the tubes always all the way out. not the ones that can get small) They were like 3 feet long, and like $1 each. Took them home and took them apart. the light was made by 22 leds each. Then a long drinking straw around that.

They were stacked on top of each other, the little legs on the leds reached around the bulb under it. Then tacked in place. the leds were about one inch apart. about 2 foot tall.

Well, i had two 14 LED tubes under the floor board. then a 7 LED tube in each side vent. And another 6 LED tube above the front tire.

Everything was zip-tied and duck taped into place. Then i used a 12v switch and wired everything so if one bulb failed they all would turn off. Wired it to the battery.
And it worked like a charm. It really lite up the streets when i rode. Way brighter then any neon. The hole thing cost me under $5 ( way cheaper then any form of neon). Next time i find those toys again im going to buy a few for my 96 elite.
"Its not what you ride, its that you ride"