whats the point of a bigger carb?

Does your Spree/Elite already run great, and you're trying to make it quicker/faster? Need a monster motor swap? Discuss your ideas here.

Moderator: Moderator

PimpinSpree
Elite
Elite

whats the point of a bigger carb?

Post by PimpinSpree »

whats the difference between getting a bigger carb and just putting a bigger main jet in a stock carb?
burnt_toast
Veteran OG
Veteran OG

Post by burnt_toast »

Better flow and adequate supply of A/F to a big bore engine.. bigger carb not needed on stock block
projects galore :nerd:
PimpinSpree
Elite
Elite

Post by PimpinSpree »

so if i do i big bore do i def need a bigger carb?

what about a spree carb with a bigger jet on an se50 elite motor
Kenny_McCormic
CBR1000RR
CBR1000RR

Post by Kenny_McCormic »

Spree carb on SE50 will be underpowered at best.
I am not a mechanic, nor do I play one on TV. Actually my advice is probably worth slightly less than what you pay to view it.
GN Racer
Goped
Goped

Post by GN Racer »

PimpinSpree wrote:so if i do i big bore do i def need a bigger carb?
Not necessarily, but you will need a larger jet for sure.
PimpinSpree wrote:what about a spree carb with a bigger jet on an se50 elite motor
Open up the carb a bit with a grinder (after disassembly). Not too much though. You can open it up to the stock SE50 size, or larger. I used to run an opened up Spree carb on my '87 Elite engined Aero with a 62cc Proma kit. I think the jet size I used was a 90 or 95

I later upgraded to a 18mm Mikuni w/Kitaco manifold, but I don't remember if there was an improvement in performance. It's still on there so I know that it didn't hurt performance.
Geoff

'85 Aero 50 w/Dio 66cc
'87 Elite 50 w/Dio 72cc
'87 Spree -SOLD!
Puch Magnum
Yamaha Razz POS -Soon to be Dio powered!
PimpinSpree
Elite
Elite

Post by PimpinSpree »

what do you mean open it up? I've never heard of doing this, so i can only guess. Like grind off some aluminum where the butterfly opens up?
GN Racer
Goped
Goped