Question......why not an aluminum block?

Does your Spree/Elite already run great, and you're trying to make it quicker/faster? Need a monster motor swap? Discuss your ideas here.

Moderator: Moderator

dgsoles
Spree
Spree

Question......why not an aluminum block?

Post by dgsoles »

I hear of everyone talking about how you can only make as much power (heat) as you can shed. I know these bikes have an aluminum cylinder head on them, but has anyone made an aluminum block? I know it has a lower melting point, but, doesn't aluminum dissipate heat so much faster than iron does? I don't know....just a thought....
1986 Honda Spree - Running amazing.....body work still needs to be done, but that's a Spring job.
Kenny_McCormic
CBR1000RR
CBR1000RR

Post by Kenny_McCormic »

AL bores cost a lot more to rebuild.
I am not a mechanic, nor do I play one on TV. Actually my advice is probably worth slightly less than what you pay to view it.
dwsracing
Goped
Goped

Post by dwsracing »

Don't they re-sleeve them ??? Seems that what they did on the dirt bikes.
DW
scooterwerx
Elite
Elite

Post by scooterwerx »

Al cyliders dont make that much more power to warrant their cost and disposable nature. once an Al cylinder gets wasted, the only thing you can do to salvage it is sleeving. cast iron is easy, rebore and hone with an O/S piston and its good to go! that said, my brothers zuma is running the athena kit, which includes an Al cylinder. it has almost 1500 miles on it, i pulled it apart to inspect and decarbonize, it was weird how new it looked! the piston had no scuffing, the bore was smooth and shiny. so, i guess if you feel like spending more, Al works just fine! my aero still pulls him up to top speed though! then his gets 75mph!!!
dgsoles
Spree
Spree

Post by dgsoles »