AF16E Spree swap, summer project!

This is the place to post your scooter builds; everything from stock Spree restoration to water-cooled drag bikes.

Moderator: Moderator

Petrock's 1984 Spree
Elite
Elite

AF16E Spree swap, summer project!

Post by Petrock's 1984 Spree »

Alright i finally got smart and stopped posting all my questions in performance technical and figured i just make this on-going thread of what i have questions about. I have a 1984 Iowa Spree with the original motor that i have upgraded and will be put back together soon. I will ride this through the summer and probably into fall hopefully. My top speed is hopefully going to be 40mph which will get me through the summer. However, the main road going through our town is 55mph, so i snatched up a good deal on an AF16E locally. Im completely new to variators and dont know what im doing so hopefully, with the help of everyone, i can mod the engine and put it in my Spree to cruise at 55mph comfortably. The list i have of parts so far is this...

1. Polini Corsa
2. PG Long Exhaust
3. Keli Speed Variator
4. Keli Performance Clutch
5. SEF Ramp Plate
6. 17x41 secondaries (8.44:1)
7. 21mm OKO with CT mani and High Flow K&N
8. Main and Idle Jet Kits
9. 90/90 rear tire

This is as far as i have made it and any advice would be great. I dont know if what i have listed above is right with what i need. Also, i know I still need to figure out what contra spring, clutch springs, and roller weights i need but dont know how to do this. I know roller weights i just need to experiment with so maybe just get a kit with a bunch of different gram sizes? And while i was looking around i found something called slider weights? Dunno what those do. Help is GREATLY appreciated! Thanks guys! :peace:
Complete NOOB, sorry dudes
1984 Iowa Spreedio aka "Hammy"
-72cc Polini Corsa
-V8 Typhoon Exhaust
-21mm OKO & CT Mani
-ZX Trans 1k Contra
-8.44:1 Gears
-Polini 2 Shoe Clutch
-Koso Vented Clutch Bell